FZJ80 Electric Fan Conversion?

Tomas

New-ish
Hey Rising Sun friends, forum newbie here...

Have any of you entertained the idea of pulling the old clutch fan and replacing it with an electric unit wired to a thermostat or switch in order to free up a little extra power from the motor? Figured anything helps on a 30 year old 1FZ. Word on the street is that some have used electric fan units from Ford Crown Vics? Anyone have experience here and if so does it work well and was there any performance difference? So many questions haha.... I'd love to see some pics on how it was done if anyone has them... Thanks.

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
I'm still running the clutch fan but I upgraded the clutch with thicker fluid so it engages more quickly. It's been a decade since I did all this so I don't remember all the details but it's still going strong.

Inukshuk

Rising Sun Member
Welcome.
Would it help? Sounds like a solution in search of a problem.
How will the 80A alternator do?

Notyourmomslx450

Cruise Moab Committee
Cruise Moab Committee
Hey Rising Sun friends, forum newbie here...

Have any of you entertained the idea of pulling the old clutch fan and replacing it with an electric unit wired to a thermostat or switch in order to free up a little extra power from the motor? Figured anything helps on a 30 year old 1FZ. Word on the street is that some have used electric fan units from Ford Crown Vics? Anyone have experience here and if so does it work well and was there any performance difference? So many questions haha.... I'd love to see some pics on how it was done if anyone has them... Thanks.
I use a 2spd Lincoln Continental fan on my LS swapped 80.
Works great!

Tomas

New-ish
Welcome.
Would it help? Sounds like a solution in search of a problem.
How will the 80A alternator do?