Converting 3x to 1x

ScaldedDog

Hard Core 4+
Had an epic ride in Vail today with my 3x 575, but the derailleur is still goofed up. I'm thinking of converting it to 1x11. I think I'll have similar low gearing to my current 22/34 with a 30/45.

What's involved in this swap? I have 11 year old XT shifters and front derailleur and cranks, and XTR stuff in back. Can Amy of it be reused?

Mark

Corbet

RS Moderator
Staff member
I'm no expert on the new drive trains but I think you'll be in it for the following:

Front chainring
Chain
Cassette
Rear hub and spokes (or whole wheel)
Rear derailleur
Derailleur cable
Shifter
Maybe some grips

The cassette body on the hub is the big question. Not sure if they made those longer for the 11 speed or is the new cassette spacing just that much tighter.

I demoed a bike a couple weeks ago with a 1x11 and liked it. Pushing the 30/42 was not as low as my old bike but part of it was the 29 vs 26" wheels. I was able to do all the climbs on that trail but it was not the steepest test around by far.

DaveInDenver

Rising Sun Ham Guru
Shimano hub bodies are the same up to 12 speeds so no worries there. The gear spacing tightens up with each step up from 7/8 thru 12 so chains are not the same. Shimano only does 11 speed on MTB so far.

You may be able to reuse the cranks. Are yours external bearing, splined or still tapered? Just wondering the bolt circle. You need a 104 outer to run small rings well but there are ways around things. But most everything else doesn't do you much good. You may need a new chain ring on the cranks though not strictly speaking if gearing works. The wide-narrow rings do help.

If you stick with Shimano you can only do a 42 in back. SRAM has the 50 and aftermarket can do 50, like with One Up. I've only used Wolf Tooth components with exception of One Up derailleur plates.