What Battery for my 80?

Corbet

RS Moderator
Staff member
The battery in my 80 just died. So what battery to replace it with?

For now I only have one battery but will be eventually adding a dual battery system. A winch will probably come first though, so I need a battery up to that task in a single system.

I'm leaning towards a yellow top. Thoughts?

I'm going to be down in Denver tomorrow and Monday so let me know where you have found the best price on what ever you recommend.

Corbet

RS Moderator
Staff member
after searching MUD it looks like those who like the yellow top like the group 31.

I have no personal experience with the yellow's. My 60 had a red top installed by PO. I've had the truck since 4/04 with no problems so my experience is still very positive with Optima.

But still looking for feedback on other batteries.

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
I have a yellow top Optima in my 40 and a red top Optima in my 80. Both have performed flawlessly.

Romer

RS Moderator
Staff member
I have two different types in my 80. The first is an Orbital I bought from Napa. When I installed the dual batts I got a yellow top to be used as t6he deep cycle battery (Primary). I also put an orbital in Rachels 4runner.

No issues with any of them. Had the Orbitals 2.5 years and the yellow top a year and a half.

Corbet

RS Moderator
Staff member
So yesterday before the game I drove around looking for a group 31 yellow top in Denver.

4 Wheel Parts, $289.99. Non in stock. Not really interested in ordering one. Maybe it was my GB Packer shirt/hat?

Sam's club. only group 34's. red/yellow

Batteries plus, $239.99. Non in stock, but willing to order. Group 34's in stock, red/yellow/blue.

Anyone know of a place who actually may stock one?

Red_Chili

Hard Core 4+
I used what AutoZone had in stock. Worth ordering, cheaper.