The Anti-anti-build

Stuckinthe80s

Rising Sun Member
Staff member
UPDATE 8/12/2023: I've changed the thread title because I'm going a different route with this one. It's going to be a pretty cool build as I'm going to pull the body and put it on an 80 series frame. It's crazy this thread started almost 4 years ago, but that's life. I'm just glad I'm getting back to it.

@Hulk can you move this to the builds section?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've never done a build thread before so here goes...

This will be slow going as I plan on taking my time on this one. Really it will be more for documenting everything that needs to be done to the truck and will hopefully help give others some reference points for similar projects.

Here is Charlie the day I brought her home:

4runner.jpg

I named her Charlie because the end result will probably be a white and black color scheme and she'll look a lot like my other Charlie:
Charlie.jpeg

She's lean, nimble, a good companion and loves going off-road with me. Hopefully the 4runner will be the same way.

I'm calling this the anti-build because really I just want to get it back to stock. It will be my daily driver and will pull occasional trail duty. What little building I do to it, I will try to keep it light as possible as well. Lift will be minimal, tires will be 31" max, very minimal armor, no drawers, just a nice, clean truck that will be a joy to drive. When I go off-road with it, I'll keep it to the bunny slopes at best. The IFS has its limitations but that's ok. If the truck can't do the trail, I don't want to be on it with her anyways. "The Beast", my 80, is the built rig in the family and will probably stay that way. That thing is purely utilitarian and is kind of ugly to look at. When I'm done with the 4runner, I hope it will turn heads from how pretty she is.