Shop Air Compressor Aftercoolers

mikedrom

Rising Sun Member
I’m working on a new air compressor build for my garage, and I want to add an after cooler between the pump and tank of my air compressor setup. Dozens of creative folks have uploaded pictures of their intricate coolers—pipes spanning entire walls, coils submerged in Home Depot buckets, etc.—but for my less-hardcore use, I’m thinking something much simpler could work: a furnace water-to-air heat exchanger with an electric fan strapped to it.

IMG_1496.jpeg

The temp, pressure, and CFM ratings for these all appear to meet what any shop compressor can muster up, but I’m assuming there HAS to be a reason I haven’t seen people using these. Dedicated aftercoolers for air compressors are also at least 10x the cost of these, so I’m guessing I’m missing something.

Someone want to talk me out of this idea before I accidentally blow myself up?

DaveInDenver

Rising Sun Ham Guru
@mikedrom, I have no first hand experience with doing what you're thinking but a couple of things jump to mind.

Watch safe working pressure, pressure drop and flow rate. I'd also verify that materials are compatible. If those all work then I don't see why it would be a problem.

Can't imagine anything in compressed air is different than you'd see in boiler water or steam. You install compressed air lines using threaded iron pipe, soldered copper or PEX plumbing so not sure why a heat exchanger would be any different.

The question I would have is let's say you use a fairly large one, say 36" x 36", and it's got 15 passes and two layers, made with 1/4" pipe. That might be 90 feet of 1/4" pipe and I'd think that would have some impact depending on the circuit. They'd put manifolds on each side so the path isn't through the whole length but rather 30 parallel 36" tubes if they're not worried about a phase change. But one designed for condensing might not use manifolds and is one long tube.

Just thinking aloud.

Last edited:

ScaldedDog