• RS MAY CLUB MEETING
    Hi Guest: Our monthly RS meeting on Wed. May 1st will be held at the Rooney Sports Complex. Details and directions are here. Early start time: 7:00 pm. to take advantage of daylight. We'll be talking ColoYota Expo and Cruise Moab.
    If you are eligible for club membership, please fill out an application in advance of the meeting and bring it with you.

Regularly scheduled maintenance intervals

corsair23

Hard Core 4+
So I've read what the owner's manual states and I've read what the FSM states and I've read many a posts...I've always followed the 3K miles or 3 month rule with regard to oil/filter changes and whatever the owner's manual showed for the diffs, tranny, etc. Lately though I've seen information supporting longer intervals for oil changes etc. with the advances in synthetic oils etc.

Since I am new to the 80 series I'd like to get input from the experts on what your recommended fluid change intervals are for the fluids you use for the following:

Oil/filter change
Front/Rear Diffs
Tcase/Center Diff
AT
Cooling System
PS fluid
Brake fluid

Hope this isn't too low tech but I'd like to get a schedule set based on real world experience and stick to it :thumb:

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
IMO, every 5000 miles for oil changes is fine. The Land Cruiser straight 6 engine holds an enormous amount of oil. And it's not a high rev machine, either.

I drive my FJ40 so seldom that I change the oil once a year, just because I feel guilty.

Shark Bait

Rising Sun Member
Use Toyota oil filters and red coolant. I bought a gross of filters from Cdan. I'm about out and need to do it again.

nakman

Club Secretary
Staff member

Oil/filter change - twice a year regardless of miles, November & May (after Moab). Synthetic oil, 20004 filters

Front/Rear Diffs - every other year, regardless of miles. Comes with the full axle service.

Tcase/Center Diff - every other year, regardless of miles.