• ColoYota Expo: swap meet + show and shine. Saturday, May 11 from 10 am - 2 pm
    Get Details & Register Now!
    . Only $5 to attend (no additional charge to participate in the swap meet).

Hey Guest, we need volunteers to help run the event. Please sign up here.

Red Elephant And Bill Moore

Crash

Rising Sun Member
Not really a trip report but a comment on the degree of difficulty currently found on these two trails. I have been driving both for nearly 20 years now. The bottom third of Red E was usually enough to get you to pay attention but no big deal. The rest of the way to Bill Moore was a walk in the park in years gone by. Today, along with Scott Yoder in JadeRunner, the entire length of Red E from bottom to top was enough to keep us focused all the way. This is a pic of what used to be a simple bump on the upper half of the trail.
IMG_8821.jpeg
Hardly impassible, but the rocks had to be dealt with, you couldn’t simply drive around them as the trail was too soft and fell off sharply. Just one of many obstacles that didn’t use to be there. Once you get to the top of Red E it’s nothing technical but still very much rougher than it used to be up to the lake. Increased usage has definitely changed the nature of both trails. Worked for us and it was a fun and challenging four hour loop. The bottom half of Red E is a hoot.

Cruisertrash

Rising Sun Member
Bart looks like he’s thinking about stuff for a moment in that photo!

Crash

Rising Sun Member
He and I both were. Some deep holes in front of those rocks. Neither Scott nor I had to resort to straps or winch rope but I did have to stack a couple of rocks on one obstacle.

Cruisertrash

Rising Sun Member
Looks like you had to get a tire up on that rock. Probably a little off camber leaning over that edge… I guess we’re all in it for the thrills though!

Crash

Rising Sun Member