new 73 FJ40 owner

timmbuck2

RS Club TLCA Delegate
Cruise Moab Committee
Finally. :)

http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=3083

Went out to take a look at Oleg's 73 FJ40. If I can find a way to get it home, it is mine. :D Anyone with a trailer I can borrow??

Get ready for tons of 40 questions, as I am a complete newbie. My long-term goal for it would be an occasional driver around town, and mild off-roader. The 80 will be my DD and main offroad vehicle. I was hoping to throw a cheap engine in it quickly, but I guess now would be a good time to get to know the truck and fix/replace all the stuff that is hard to do with the engine in place. Maybe even start by taking it off the frame and try some POR? Let me know what you experts and not-so-experts think. Thanks!!!!!

Timm

:cheers:

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
Put an engine in it, take the top off, get the headlights working and wheel it. If you want to do a frame-off resto, do it later. Fall in love with it first. Make it drivable and then drive it.

You don't want to end up with a 10-year project that never gets finished. I have a friend who has a '64 Bug convertible that he's been restoring for almost a decade. He's never driven it, and now he just want it out of his garage.

My 2¢, for what it's worth. :)

treerootCO

Rising Sun Member
I can deliver it to you. It won't be today though.

timmbuck2

RS Club TLCA Delegate
Cruise Moab Committee
I can deliver it to you. It won't be today though.

very nice offer, thanks! no hurry at all....it is going to sit until I decide what to do, but I am sure Oleg needs it out of his hair...

T

subzali

Hard Core 4+