N00b Ham questions

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
I warn you: I tend to ask really stupid questions when I'm new to something. Lot and lots of them. Eventually, I'll know enough that I'll stop.

Question one:
My CSCE (Certificate of Successful Completion of Examination) says that I have earned this new license class:
TECHNICIAN w/HF

Does that mean I have some HF privileges? I thought the technician level granted only VHF and UHF.

Seldom Seen

Hard Core 4+
You get privileges on 10 meter from 28.000 to 28.300 CW, RTTY & data and 28.300 to 28.500 CW and SSB phone. 200 watts PEP. You also get a small sliver of 15 meters, 40 meters and 80 meters IIRC (Nathaniel can fill you in on these) but it's CW (code) only on the lower bands

Last edited:

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
Is anybody running HF in their rigs, or does that require so much antenna that it makes it a logistical PITA? Just curious -- some of the radios, like the FT-8900, offer quad band: the 8900 is a 29/50/144/430 MHz FM Transceiver. The Yaesu FT-100D looks way cool as well.

Seldom Seen

Hard Core 4+
The quad banders are FM only. IMHO not worth the x-tra $$. 6meter FM isn't any better than 2meter FM. I know you probably read that 6 is the magic band but most of the action on 6 is on SSB. Currently there are no 6m SSB mobiles 'cept the $1000 DC to Daylight all bander rigs. 10meters on the quads is FM also and our Tech+HF privileges do not allow for FM transmissions on 10.

nakman

Club Secretary
Staff member
Matt, my vote is you should just get a 7800 or 8800. They are perfect radios for what our main need is, and will completely satisfy your immediate need for a radio. And similar to sliders, bumpers, and OME springs.. if you decide to switch up in a year or so I bet you could get 75% of what you paid for it back... or, put the 7800 in the other truck...