Mobile Radio Selection

Oh_shift

Rising Sun Member
In the great debate of radios, I'm trying to pick a mobile unit. Here are the top two contenders:

Icom IC-2730A
  • Positive head unit will fit in open spot on dash
  • True dual channel monitoring
  • Cross band repeater function

Yaesu FTM-100DR
  • Smaller head unit so it should still fit in open spot on dash
  • APRS

I started looking at the Icom and was just about to pull the trigger until I saw this Yaesu. They both have more features, but I don't know a lot of their benefits, so you're help is appreciated. I have no experience with APRS nor had a desire to pursue it, but for a radio in this price point, why not give it a second look.

Thoughts/opinions/experience on either of them? Been using either and want to upgrade?

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
I can't comment on the radios, but one thing to consider is whether you can plug the microphone into the detachable display, or if it must be plugged into the radio body. My old Yaesu FT-7800 allows the microphone to be plugged into the display, which is good because the radio body is all the way in the back of my truck. It sounds like you can't do this with the new Yaesu FTM-400XDR, which several guys in the club have purchased. If you're installing the radio body under the seat or in the center console, this won't be an issue.

nakman

Club Secretary
Staff member
In the club here Yaesu radios outnumber Icom or Kenwood probably 3:1. So if you had a thought that you might need help while on a run, I'd lean towards a Yaesu. Example every time you transmit, your radio makes a beep first... Yaesu guys would tell other Yaesu guys to look for a little atom/infinity symbol button and press that, or push/hold the channel knob, and that toggles that feature, as they have all BTDT. Other radio guys would tell you go rtfm.

Oh_shift

Rising Sun Member