I've got the HF bug - starter unit?

DomOfTheDead

Event Coordinator
Cruise Moab Committee
I am looking for a recommendation for a good budget portable unit. I am new to ham and would like to be able to communicate with others on runs that don't have cb. I would like to purchase a unit to get used to it and begin preparing for licensing. Any thoughts on the Yaesu FT-60r for my needs?

DaveInDenver

Rising Sun Ham Guru
I am looking for a recommendation for a good budget portable unit. I am new to ham and would like to be able to communicate with others on runs that don't have cb. I would like to purchase a unit to get used to it and begin preparing for licensing. Any thoughts on the Yaesu FT-60r for my needs?
This is a more general question, so probably not the best thread to discuss it. Perhaps @wesintl @Hulk @Lars can move it, although I don't think there's really a good "What should my first radio be?" thread.

To answer your question, a Yaesu FT-60R is a very fine handheld ham radio and would do fine for club runs. I generally recommend going with a mobile radio first instead of an HT. More power, easier to operate safely, etc.

DomOfTheDead

Event Coordinator
Cruise Moab Committee
This is a more general question, so probably not the best thread to discuss it. Perhaps @wesintl @Hulk @Lars can move it, although I don't think there's really a good "What should my first radio be?" thread.

To answer your question, a Yaesu FT-60R is a very fine handheld ham radio and would do fine for club runs. I generally recommend going with a mobile radio first instead of an HT. More power, easier to operate safely, etc.
Thanks Dave!

CardinalFJ60

Rising Sun Member
thanks for posting that up...I checked it our this morning...now it's been pulled down..I missed it. OH well...I'll nab one of these deals soon enough.

CardinalFJ60

Rising Sun Member