• ColoYota Expo: swap meet + show and shine. Saturday, May 11 from 10 am - 2 pm
    Get Details & Register Now!
    . Only $5 to attend (no additional charge to participate in the swap meet).

Hey Guest, we need volunteers to help run the event. Please sign up here.

Aircraft Frequencies?

subzali

Hard Core 4+
So since Technician class gets you priveleges on all amateur bands 50 MHz and higher, does that mean we can call on the aircraft frequencies? It looks like their band lies somewhere in the 115-135 MHz range. I was just thinking in case you're out in the middle of nowhere sometimes the planes flying overhead are closer than the nearest repeater or ground contact. But maybe the aircraft frequencies are above 50 MHz but aren't considered to be amateur bands - or maybe our radios (in stock form) can't drop to 115 MHz? I'm still learning, but don't really know how to fish yet.

Shark Bait

Rising Sun Member
I've been able to listen on my VX-7R, but it does not transmit on those frequencies. :eek:

corsair23

Hard Core 4+
The only frequency you'd really need to be able to transmit/receive on is 121.5 - that is the international emergency frequency that pilots, ATC, etc. monitor.

I don't know the rules around transmitting on 121.5 if your not in a plane but in a life and death emergency...

Back when I was flying I use to like to listen to theCentennial tower frequency (118.9) on my ICOM HT...

DaveInDenver

Rising Sun Ham Guru