• ColoYota Expo: swap meet + show and shine. Saturday, May 11 from 10 am - 2 pm
    Get Details & Register Now!
    . Only $5 to attend (no additional charge to participate in the swap meet).

Hey Guest, we need volunteers to help run the event. Please sign up here.

Infrastructure and rough in for base station questions.

I pm'd Groucho, but looking for general advice and ideas from the collective.

I'm new to HAM, just started the "wives class" last night, but I've been interested in amateur radio since I was 12 and in Boy Scouts. I started in a HAM class, but the math/basic electric theory was too far ahead since I had NO algebra experience.

Anyhow, my wife and I are currently remodeling our new to us home in Wheat Ridge, and have completely gutted a previously finished basement. Since we are replacing the entire electrical system from the meter base in, I'm looking for rough-in advice and pre-planning ideas for my "future" base station.

I'm already pulling a new 20 amp circuit dedicated just to my office, but wonder if I should pull a second circuit just for base station electrics?

What about routing conduit(s) for transmission lines to feed antenna(s)?

I'm certain there are lots of other things I haven't considered, and look for advice so that I can prepare for a kick-a$$ base station, while the ceiling and walls are all opened up.

Cheers!

A seperate ground

Install an exterior copper grounding rod as close as possible to the Ham.

Run a continuous 8 gauge copper wire from the new grounding rod to the Ham equipment only.

Don't run the antenna cable and the 8 gauge wire close to each other.

Install a copper grounding rod for an exterior antenna mast.

Install one 110v 20a circut just for the Ham related power load.

Uncle Ben

Hard Core 4+