Derrick Lewis

-fugazi

Rock Stacker
Intro - obviously I'm new here, and also I'm new to Land Cruisers. Name's Jake. I've had various Toyota pick-ups since high-school. Had a FJ Cruiser for a short while. Now I've jumped into this world without really knowing much about it. I've always wanted a FJ40 since my father had one. I thought it was so cool with the jump-seats in the back so me & my sister would sit facing each other, which was super cool, plus it was mustard yellow. I've talked about getting one and fixing it up for years...like 15-20 years. So I was hanging out with a couple guys talking about trucks (Toyotas) and I heard myself saying again that "I'm going to get a 40 someday and fix it up" and realized I'm full of it unless I actually do it. So I did. I did very little research because hunting around for a truck is not my idea of fun. I just wanted to get something, and I found a rig in Austin TX which I purchased and had shipped here. My son said to call it Beck, because Beck is cool. But I kept calling it the Black Beast. I don't feel politically correct walking around saying "Black Beast". So I've changed the name to Derrick Lewis. And hopefully one day soon it will be a legit FJ40 color instead of black. And hopefully one day it won't have a huge hole under the pedals.

I heard about this site from my cousin and thought it would be a good place to post easy questions to get some advice from some veterans as I do a "refresh". So here is the first question....the top is painted dark gray or silver or something. I am taking the truck to get blasted. I am guessing I cannot get the top blasted? If not, how should I remove the paint? Or should I leave it alone and take it to the painters when I take the rest of the truck in? Thanks

Notyourmomslx450

Cruise Moab Committee
Cruise Moab Committee
Welcome
Nice user name. Fugazi is one of my favorite bands

-fugazi

Rock Stacker