• Jack-it Night: April 2024 RS Meeting Hey Guest: Wed. April 3rd is the next Rising Sun meeting, and you won't want to miss it. We're doing our annual offroad recovery equipment demonstration and trail skills training aka "Jack It Night." Meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. (early) Click here for all the details.

battery in the 80 took a dive, what is everyone else using?

FZJ Dave

I have been running a Yellow Top Optima in my 80 since 2018 when I bought it. No issues here. I ran a lead acid as my 2nd battery and it spilled it's acid all over my engine compartment. I will only run sealed AGM or other sealed type batteries going forward.

subzali

Hard Core 4+
Here are some numbers I looked at when the X2 that came in my white 80 was dying. I am not sure how old it was, but I think it was from 2018, so it only lasted like 3 years if that was the case. Prices have gone up since I did this...

Batteries Plus X2 27F 930 CCA 195 RC $360 5-year full warranty
O'Reilly Super Start Platinum AGM 24F 710 CCA 110 RC $200 3-yr limited warranty
Autozone Duralast Platinum AGM 35 650 CCA 100 RC $200 3-yr full warranty
Autozone Duralast Platinum AGM 24F 710 CCA 120 RC $200 3-yr full warranty
Optima Red Top 35 720 CCA 90 RC $200 3-yr limited warranty
Advance Die Hard Platinum AGM 24F 710 CCA 120 RC $160 3-yr full replacement
Costco Interstate 24F 710 CCA 120 RC $160 3-yr limited

The X2 clearly has the best performance, I guess being the only 27F in the group. 5-year warranty is good, but I kinda worry that there isn't a Batteries Plus everywhere you go.