• Jack-it Night: April 2024 RS Meeting Hey Guest: Wed. April 3rd is the next Rising Sun meeting, and you won't want to miss it. We're doing our annual offroad recovery equipment demonstration and trail skills training aka "Jack It Night." Meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. (early) Click here for all the details.

Aisan Carbs 101: Anatomy and Function

From my intro thread (and some stuff on Mud) it seems there's some interest in how carbs work. Since I'm going to be tuning mine soon and don't have a lot of experience with progressive carburetors, I figured I'd learn how these particular carbs are wired by teaching how they work. Bear in mind, I'm new to this particular carb, so don't take this for gospel. If I'm corrected on something, I'll edit to reflect.

The carburetor here is from my rock-stock 11/73 40-Series (this particular carb was actually built on my birthday a few years removed). It's recently rebuilt, but I didn't go so far as to soda blast it or anything, and between a crappy plunger boot and a dirty fuel tank it's already accumulated some schmutz (though some of the spots are just spots on the metal).
photocopy28_zps08d60d8a.jpg

Essentials
Carburetors work via pressure differential. Air moving over an orifice (the inside of which is atmospheric pressure) creates a negative pressure zone. That negative pressure draws air/fluid toward the stream (think of those old-timey perfume bottles with the squeeze bulb). In a carburetor, this is taken advantage of via the bowl.
photocopy22_zps302e69e9.jpg

photocopy21_zps6d221f67.jpg