• Jack-it Night: April 2024 RS Meeting Hey Guest: Wed. April 3rd is the next Rising Sun meeting, and you won't want to miss it. We're doing our annual offroad recovery equipment demonstration and trail skills training aka "Jack It Night." Meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. (early) Click here for all the details.

80 front brakes: recommendation for rotors & pads?

Hulk

RS Webmaster
Staff member
Cruise Moab Committee
Based on behavior while braking recently, I'm thinking my 1996 FZJ80 front rotors are warped. I'm going to first see if there is enough thickness to get them turned, but if I need to replace them, I'm curious if you all have recommendations for OEM or aftermarket parts?

Rotors
Stevinson West sells new OEM rotors for $73.30 which seems reasonable.
Slee sells DBA T3 Rotors for $219 each, which makes me wonder about braking performance gains available from aftermarket rotors.

Pads
I've been running 100 pads on the front for many years. The upside is they last forever -- I used to replace 80 pads with regularity. The 100 pads don't provide better stopping power, but they last much longer. The downside is that you can't install any of the shims for the pads if you're doing both new 100 pads and new 80 rotors. Too much thickness.

But I could be convinced to go back to 80 pads if I could get better stopping power. @rover67, what do you use for front pads on your 80? Recommendations?

IoN6

Rising Sun Member
I did DBA T2's all the way around with 100 pads back in 2017. Think I have a cracked passenger front that is squeaking to beat the band. No visible gouging on the rotors, so hoping that is it anyway.

ABS delete did wonders for stopping power. Can, and have, locked them up since doing the delete.

rover67

Rising Sun Member
I use EBC yellow stuff pads but they make a lot of dust.