• Jack-it Night: April 2024 RS Meeting Hey Guest: Wed. April 3rd is the next Rising Sun meeting, and you won't want to miss it. We're doing our annual offroad recovery equipment demonstration and trail skills training aka "Jack It Night." Meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. (early) Click here for all the details.

60 Series knuckle rebuild help?

Cruisertrash

Rising Sun Member
In the next 4-6 weeks I want to rebuild the knuckles and install new wheel bearings on the front end of my 60. I’ve never done this before but there’s no need for me to reinvent the wheel when a lot of folks have . Anybody down to help in exchange for beverage of choice/pizza?

Chase has graciously offered his new garage spot, so the work would happen in South Denver.

FYI - I have been watching a lot of YouTube videos and reading through stuff here and on Mud. I’m not going in unprepared. But experience can make things go a lot faster.

Rzeppa

Rising Sun Member
I miss the days when the wheel bearing packing party was an annual club event. Club mentors taught me all about my front end. I'm going to replace the hubs on my 60 some time soon, and replace the wheel studs as well. I need to check and make sure I already have all the seals and gaskets I need, I normally have a bunch extra.

Question for you Cruisertrash: Why replace the wheel bearings? I have never seen wheel bearings that were so worn that they needed to be replaced. I suppose if they ran dry and seized? Normally you just clean them, repack them and re-preload them.

WARNING! There is a ton of misinformation all over the interwebs, including you tube and mud! Don't simply assume that the information out there is correct! There are a lot of web wheelers who know not of what they type (and video!). The FSM is the best reference tool, and Haynes is right behind it.

Last edited:

Burt88

Trail Ready